NOC updates

 IRCC will begin using the NOC 2021 system. Before that change becomes effective, you should be aware of the following.

Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) will transition to the 2021 version of the National Occupation Classification (NOC) system, a change that has been planned since the announcement on July 27. This change will affect eligibility for some of Canada’s immigration programs, including Express Entry.

For instance, the Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities (TEER) system will replace the current NOC system (NOC 2016), which mandates that Express Entry candidates have work experience categorized under NOC skill types 0, A, or B.

updated official details can be found at

This is how the TEER categories of the 2021 NOC system correspond to the skill type categories of the current NOC system.

NOC 2016 NOC 2021
Skill Type 0 TEER 0
Skill Level A TEER 1
Skill Level B TEER 2
Skill Level B TEER 3
Skill Level C TEER 4
Skill Level D TEER 5

Updated NOC 2021 eligibility criteria for Express Entry

Eligibility criteria Canadian Experience Class Federal Skilled Worker Program Federal Skilled Trades Program
English or French skills CLB 7 for TEER 0 or TEER 1 occupations; CLB 5 for TEER 2 or TEER 3 occupations CLB 7 CLB 5 for speaking and listening; CLB 4 for reading and writing
Type/Level of work experience Canadian work experience in an occupation listed in one or more of these NOC TEER Categories: TEER 0, TEER 1, TEER 2, or TEER 3. Work experience in an occupation listed in one of these NOC TEER Categories: TEER 0, TEER 1, TEER 2, or TEER 3. Work experience in a skilled trade under key groups of TEER 2 or TEER 3.*
Amount of work experience One year in Canada in the last three years (either combination of full-time or part-time work). one continuous year within the previous ten years (combination of part-time, full-time or more than one job in your primary occupation). two years in the previous five years (either combination of full-time or part-time work)
Job offer Not required. Not required but you can get selection criteria (FSW) points for having a valid job offer. A valid full-time job offer for at least one year, or a certificate of qualification in that skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial, territorial, or federal authority.
Education Not required. Secondary education required. You can get more selection criteria (FSW) points for your post-secondary education. Not required.

With the switch to NOC 2021, there will be changes to Express Entry’s occupational eligibility.

16 new professions are now eligible:

Transport truck drivers

Bus drivers, subway operators and other transit operators

Heavy equipment operators

Payroll administrators

Sheriffs and bailiffs

Correctional service officers

By-law enforcement and other regulatory officers

Estheticians, electrologists and related occupations

Residential and commercial installers and servicers

Dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants

Nurse aides, orderlies, and patient service associates

Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants

Elementary and secondary school teacher assistants

Pest controllers and fumigators

Other repairers and servicers

Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors

Three newly excluded professions:

Other performers

Program leaders and instructors in recreation, sport, and fitness

Tailors, dressmakers, furriers, and milliners


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

  • RSS190
  • Follow by Email
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram20
  • WhatsApp497